top of page
student photo.png

Our Schools

The North Canterbury cluster spans a vast geographic region. From the far north of Hanmer Springs, to the east, Cheviot Area School, to the south, Ouruhia Model School, and to the west, View Hill School. Puketeraki, Tipu Maia, and Katote are the three Kahui Ako that we belong to.

Our community is traversed by four rivers that are intertwined. These awa are depicted in the whakatauki for our cluster, "Mā te whiritahi, ka whakatutuki ai ngā pūmanawa ā tāngata," which means "together weaving the realisation of potential". This sets the scene for promoting collaboration with kura, kaiako and whānau and always taking a strengths-based perspective and bringing together all the steams of knowledge that He Awa Whiria (braided rivers) describes.

The analogies between RTLB mahi and the braided rivers are evident - providing the strong banks of support, being guided by the flow, coming together, branching off, considering all streams of knowledge, ensuring the quality of the environment so ākonga thrive.

bottom of page