top of page


Resource Teachers of Learning and Behaviour (RTLB) are experienced teachers trained to work collaboratively with ākonga, caregivers, family/whānau, kaiako, deans, Learning Support Coordinators (LSC), SENCOs, tumuaki, and the educational community to support positive outcomes for students in Years 1-10. Whilst we are not experts we have developed expertise in the field of supporting ākonga with diverse learning and behavioural needs. We collaborate to create a strategic plan with realistic goals for mokopuna.  

To achieve our purpose, we have a team of 13 specialist kaiako who work across 40 schools in partnership with the local Kāhui Ako networks, Ministry of Education, Learning Support, Mana Ake and other agencies. We are guided by the He Pikorua practice framework and the Learning Support Delivery Model.


What we do

The support we offer and how to request it


Student Support

  • Our process for RFS


Kaiako Support

  • Systems work


Co-Lab Rōpū

Copy of Raphaela Cook - RNL.png

History of RTLB

Overall aim

The Resource Teachers: Learning and Behaviour (RTLB) service aims to improve learning and teaching for students with learning or behaviour difficulties.

RTLB are a group of itinerant specialists who provide support to ensure good educational outcomes for Years 1-10 students.

Special Education 2000

Special Education 2000 (developed from 1995-2000)
Focused on inclusive education and the provision of a more consistent approach to special education needs

The Ministry of Education established the RTLB service in 1998/9 as part of this initiative. The service would provide a more consistent approach to catering for students with additional learning and behaviour needs.

The Ministry divided RTLB into cluster groups based on designated geographical areas to provide a shared service to the schools within that area.

The Board of Trustees (BOT) of one school in each cluster became the cluster lead school and employed, accommodated, and managed the RTLB personnel.

RTLB Transformation 2012

In September 2010, the then Minister of Education, Anne Tolley, directed the Ministry of Education to transform the RTLB service to make it more efficient and effective.

To achieve this, the Ministry worked with the education sector and RTLB to develop the new service and plan the transformation process.

As a result of recommendations from Principals' and Practitioner's working groups, the Ministry of Education restructured the clusters and reduced the number from 200 to 40.

Each of these 40 clusters is attached to a lead kura/school and the BOT of each lead kura/school is responsible for the governance and operation of the RTLB service for that cluster. Each cluster is now required to conduct a needs analysis to inform the cluster’s future practice and decision-making.

For more information on the history of the RTLB service, please click here

bottom of page